Emotional Color Wheel..

emotionsRobert Pulchik was a psychologist that used a color wheel to help categorize intensities of  what he considered to be the eight primary emotions- anger,fear,sadness,disgust,surprise,curiosity, acceptance and joy.

plutchikYou can read more about this in his book- Emotions and Life or here at Fractal. What is the emotion associated with your favorite color? What is the emotion asscociated with your least favorite color? Would you have assigned each of the emotions another color?

emotions1

4 Responses to “Emotional Color Wheel..”


  1. 1 Joann April 15, 2009 at 10:08 pm

    WOW! I would put completely different feelings on the colors. To me, rage is yellow, red is vigilance, purple is ecstasy and green is grief…. I don’t have a color for loathing. It’ll be interesting to see what other people make of this color wheel.

    Joann

  2. 2 beth April 15, 2009 at 10:50 pm

    This is very interesting! But I don’t think there is too much significance to the specific colors the author assigns to each of the primary emotions. It seems he is using the color wheel to color cone as an explanatory tool to show how the primary emotions can be “mixed” to become more complex emotions.

    So if one happens to love violet, and see that it is used here to represent “loathing”, I would hope that it doesn’t indicate that one’s world outlook is one of loathing. On the other hand, I was pleased to see that my favorite color, turquoise, is associated with “amazement” and “surprise”.

  3. 3 lindly April 16, 2009 at 5:12 am

    Exactly! … I certainly wouldn’t associate one of my favorite colors = the lightly tinted violet with boredom. Nor would I associate dark green with terror.

    What is intersting – is how we do have very definate emotional associations with individual colors and how that “knowing” often is translated when we are designing successful (voiced) color schemes in our work.

  4. 4 Jenny April 24, 2009 at 4:15 am

    and what about the colorless areas – is awe a blend of distraction and apprehension?

    as I rule I like conversations that allow common emotions – say fear or anger – to take on new, broader descriptions. Failing to understand how many ways anger can manifest itself is a diservice to ourselves. Red is certainly a traditional color used to express anger, but it can also mean many other things. I find red joyful and fun. I guess context is needed. Might be an interesting book to look at though.


Leave a Reply

Welcome

Thanks for visiting my blog where you'll find my latest news, class details, and new tips and tricks. You'll find more information about my work at my website. Come back often.

Calendar

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

