Technique du Jour or YOUR new thing?

arrowmont-005.jpgIt is quite easy to be seduced by the technique du jour. In part new discoveries and techniques are what make working with polymer clay so exciting. Before investing in expensive equipment or supplies and more importantly your time, take a moment to reflect.

  • How does this new technique interface with my artistic voice?
  • Will it amplify my message?
  • Would it be a pleasant diversion?
3 Responses to “Technique du Jour or YOUR new thing?”


  1. 1 Michelle September 11, 2007 at 1:18 pm

    You’re so right; becoming seduced by a new technique is very tempting. Whether to spend time to learn it then figure out how to incorporate it into your own body of work is the issue. My solution is to do a trial, play with the technique, then let it sit while doing other things. When I come back to it I see with fresh eyes, and can usually tell whether it will be something to add to my repertoire.
    Congrats on launching your blog!

  2. 2 Debbie Tlach September 12, 2007 at 3:11 am

    You are so right Lindly! While I love to stretch out of my comfort zone and play with new techniques I usually find the novelty quickly wears off. Even though others may use it to enhance their message it doesn‘t quite feel right for me. Thanks for your wonderful informative, thought provoking blog! Debbie

  3. 3 marcia September 12, 2007 at 9:09 pm

    This post is just the reminder I needed. I love learning all the new techniques, but I certainly can get lost in all of that. The big question is what to do with all of those darn supplies!!!☺☺☺


Leave a Reply

Welcome

Thanks for visiting my blog where you'll find my latest news, class details, and new tips and tricks. You'll find more information about my work at my website. Come back often.

Calendar

September 2007
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

