Call for Entries

lindlyleioutlinedweb.jpgAfter over a decade of teaching polymer clay color workshops, Maggie and I are finally writing a book on color for polymer clay artists.

The book is scheduled to be published by Watson Gupthill in the spring of 2009, but we need images much sooner than that to meet our deadline. We are looking forward to featuring as many polymer artsits as possible in the gallery section of the book, especially work that shows innovative, evocative, and/or sensitive use of color.

If you are interested in submitting images of your work, please mail images to us by November 1, 2007.

Submittal guidelines:

  • Images 3-9 previously unpublished ( in a book or magazine) images on CD (300 dpi, 5 x 7″ tif files)
  • Labeling Label image files with a filename that includes your last name and image number, for example:maggio1.tiff
  • Index A printed index with image filename that includes filename, title, year, dimensions (w x d x ht), materials, and phot credit; for example:maggio1tiff, Terrazzo Brooch, 2007, 2″ x 3″ x 1/8″, polymer clay, sterling silver, phot0 by Bill Bachuber
  • Optional short statement as to how you approach color choices in your work and what inspires you. Any books, teachers and or web sites that you have found to particularily helpful.

Mail your CD and Index to:

Lindly Haunani Studio #30 7630 Tomlinson Ave. Cabin John, MD 20818

Please note that email submissions will not be accepted. All submissions must be postmarked by November 1st, 2007

11 Responses to “Call for Entries”


  1. 1 Meisha Barbee September 23, 2007 at 2:30 pm

    Hello,

    I met Maggie at the last Sandy Camp, and found her color discussions the most engaging experience I had there. I discussed with Maggie how important color is to my polymer clay work, and how I adore color mixing. She responded very possitively to the neckace I was wearing, commenting on how she loved the colors I put together.

    I am currently trying to get a body of professional photos together. When I do, I’ll submit some for your color book; a book that I will definately purchase.

    Regards,

    Meisha Barbee

  2. 2 Bettina September 27, 2007 at 6:42 am

    Hi Lindly

    I really would like to send some pics of my work. You write the images have to be 5″ x 7″. Is it also possible to send in 7″ X 5″. Most of my pictures are taken in landscape format.

    thanks
    Bettina

  3. 3 Bettina September 27, 2007 at 6:44 am

    oh, forgot something. Do you like them in RGB or CMYK mode?

  4. 4 lindly September 27, 2007 at 6:03 pm

    Great questions. The images can be in landscape or portrait format. Since the images in the book will be printed using CMYK (four color process printing) that is the prefered mode.

  5. 5 Maureen Thomas October 7, 2007 at 6:40 am

    Hi, do you have any suggestions or restrictions regarding background, props, etc? Thanks!

  6. 6 lindly October 7, 2007 at 7:24 am

    My suggestion is to keep your pictures “simple” = after all what you want to highlight is your piece and the colors you have chosen. What usually works best is a plain, smooth neutral grey background with diffused lighting.

    A great exercise is to re-look at a few of your favorite art books,magazines or artist’s web sites, with an eye for photographs that enhance the artwork.

    Elisewinters.com, KathleenDustin.com, LoiseFischerCozzi.com,

    Thanks for asking- we will look forward to seeing your images!

  7. 7 Irit Cohen November 2, 2007 at 8:53 am

    I just found out about your “Call for Entries” Is it steel posible to send you? I’m not from the USA ,please answer me by mail.
    thanks
    Irit

  8. 8 Rita Sharon November 6, 2007 at 6:48 am

    Lindly, I’ve worked hard getting pictures of my work.I also told you I was computer illiterate. Well, I have the pictures on a disk. I now am trying to figure out what you want as far as the INDEX. I’m visiting my daughter tomorrow and she thinks she could help me. If not I’m stuck.I’m going to get it to you by Thurs. You did say we had more time. It’s too bad you have to be smart in addition to be talented. I very much would like your consideration of my work. It’s very important to me.Thank you. Sincerely, Rita

  9. 9 lindly November 6, 2007 at 6:10 pm

    The Index = is a listing that describes the images that you are submitting on the disc and includes

    the file name
    your name
    dimensions
    materials used
    name of photographer

    your contact information, including your email address

    The index could be hand written or printed from a word processing program. Hope this answers your question(s)


  1. 1 MaggieMaggio.com » Lindly’s Talking Color Trackback on September 18, 2007 at 6:43 am
  2. 2 Polymer Clay Daily » Haunani and Maggio Warm Up for Their Color Book Trackback on September 18, 2007 at 11:22 am

Leave a Reply

Welcome

Thanks for visiting my blog where you'll find my latest news, class details, and new tips and tricks. You'll find more information about my work at my website. Come back often.

Calendar

September 2007
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

