Tool, Gadget or Gizmo?

Well designed, classic toolYesterday  I caught myself watching on of those Thanksgiving weekend television show marathons one of my favorite television channel= Food TV. The featured show for the evening was, “Gotta Get IT” The premise of this show is the opportunity to feature new kitchen gadgets, gizmos and tools.  

  • Laughing, when they tried to demonstrate a turned crank wheat grass juicer
  • Perplexed , when they presented an egg blender that scrambled eggs in their shells?
  • Aghast, when a chef from a well known culinary institute showed how a re-adapted potato ricer could be use to extrude ice cream and then suggested that it might be used to make “pasta” out of polenta
  • Affirmed, when my favorite lemon zester was presented as an ingenious tool favored by many accomplished cooks

Which lead me to consider the differences between what I consider to be a useful tool, a gadget or auxiliary gixmet in my studio.= the theme of my next few posts.

0 Responses to “Tool, Gadget or Gizmo?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Welcome

Thanks for visiting my blog where you'll find my latest news, class details, and new tips and tricks. You'll find more information about my work at my website. Come back often.

Calendar

November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

