And the Winner Is?…

blueviolet1.jpegWhen I was in sixth grade my art teacher asked our class “what is your favorite color?”.  My response then and now was purple. One of  my fellow class mates promptly opined that purple would shortly be out of fashion…

Thankfully, purple has never gone out of fashion. Certainly there have been years when specific variations of the hue have been more popular- eggplant, lavender, deep red-violet, electric violet- among others have shared the spotlight.

Panatone has just announced the color of the year for 2008= Blue Iris  (18-3943) aka one of my favorite purples and the subject of an interesting post on Sensational Color.

Even if you don’t particularly like purple- chances are that there is a specific variation = redder, bluer, more desaturated, super  saturated, lighter or darker in value – that will work well for you when designing color schemes.

Thanks to Cynthia Tinapple for reminding me about Sensational Color…I’m less “blue” and more purple now!

4 Responses to “And the Winner Is?…”


  1. 1 Michelle December 12, 2007 at 5:16 pm

    I’ve always been a “purple person”. Nice that Pantone has recognized its wondrousness! One of my delights in the days I was working in textbook publishing in the 80’s, was the fabulous Pantone book with perforated chips–a color lover’s idea of heaven! Purple heaven, of course!

  2. 2 Debbie Barilleaux December 12, 2007 at 8:03 pm

    I love purple. I tried to get away from it for years but I can’t. After fighting pink for years, I’m adding that to my favorites. And of course pink & purple go together. LOL

  3. 3 frodo441 December 13, 2007 at 12:56 am

    Pink and purple?…magenta…ya’ know the ancient Canaanites who became the Phoenicians…started their cottage industry by “smashing Mediterranean snails” they called it Purpura and sold it to the egyptians…

  4. 4 Kate Smith December 18, 2007 at 5:51 pm

    How very lovely to find my site mentioned here! It’s always nice to be recognized by other smart, creative people. Thank you so much for mentioning me and thanks too go to Cynthia Tinapple for giving you the reminder. Cheers!


Leave a Reply

Welcome

Thanks for visiting my blog where you'll find my latest news, class details, and new tips and tricks. You'll find more information about my work at my website. Come back often.

Calendar

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

