Name That Color…

purple burstI’ve been doing a whole lot of web surfing the past few days (it is one of the few things I can do comfortably for the time being) and came across  Phernalia that has an interactive color wheel, that allows you to move your mouse pointer around and reveals the “name” of the color underneath. It is available as a Java Script download.

I have always been fascinated by how colors get their names. Chirag Mehta indicates that he used Crayola, Wikipedia and a paint companies reference chart to come up with the names for the colors.

I’m not sure how RGB 113.70.147 was named “Affair”?  Food for the imagination…

2 Responses to “Name That Color…”


  1. 1 Barb December 16, 2007 at 6:14 pm

    Thanks so much, Lindly, for mentioning this website! As a fabric designer (rayon batik from Bali), I’m sometimes stuck on what to name a color……now I’ll have a fun way to play with color names!

    Barb A.

  2. 2 Sherry Bailey December 21, 2007 at 8:44 pm

    THAT is “mauve”??? I always envisioned something more plummy and grey! And darker! how informative!

    (I once read about a high school student who wrote a poem mistaking chartreuse for amythest, which gave a more exotic twist to their imagery and brought them much praise. And it was just a mistake! They grew up to be a professional writer, though, if I remember correctly so maybe this tool would be a setback to some!) ;^)


Leave a Reply

Welcome

Thanks for visiting my blog where you'll find my latest news, class details, and new tips and tricks. You'll find more information about my work at my website. Come back often.

Calendar

December 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

