Over the Rainbow…

Iz and RainbowOne of my favorite songs of all time is IZ’s rendition of “Over the Rainbow“. I’ve played my CD hundreds of times, and one of my new years resolutions is to listen to that song another couple of dozen times (at least) with heart-felt mindfulness.

Perhaps you don’t traditionally make New Years resolutions or maybe you can laugh at decades of somewhat repetitive resolutions? Or you can consider that…

” A goal is a dream with a deadline” Napoleon Hill

This is a good as a day than any other to take a couple of quiet minutes to write down some of your most important artistic goals for 2008. What would you like to see yourself accomplishing in the next

  • Three months
  • Six months
  • By next new years day?

Remember to be gentle on yourself and to focus on “artistic” goals for the scope of this exercise.

 For example: winning a contest, being published in a certain magazine or being accepted to a certain show is not a goal. Instead it is an accomplishment base upon the interest and whims of others beyond your own control. On the other hand, preparing your  best quality work in  a timely manner, having good images of your work taken (by yourself or a professional photographer), writing a concise artist statement  and entering that show/magazine/contest is a legitimate goal.

Another example: Loosing seventy pounds, changing your messy work habits, exercising six times a week for an hour, tripling the square footage of your studio, doubling your income and establishing a new Norman Rockwell family within the span of a year, while it has probably been done before- might  be setting yourself up for?

So take a few minutes out of your already busy day, answer those three questions and then outline some to-do steps.

and sooner than later you might find yourself …dancing over that rainbow! I may not be doing the Tango this year, but I have set some goals and plan to revisit my progress and/or re-design over the next year.

6 Responses to “Over the Rainbow…”


  1. 1 Toby January 2, 2008 at 2:46 pm

    Lindly,
    I agree… I love IZ’s rendition of Over the rainbow… In fact I love a lot of his music. What waste of talent that he is no longer with us.
    Hope you have a wonderful new year.
    Toby

  2. 2 dragonsglass January 2, 2008 at 3:02 pm

    That is one of my most favorite songs. Each time it cycles through on my ipod I stop and remember. My major goal for this year is getting my art supplies organized so I can find stuff. And that organization starts today.

    Hope your new year is filed with life and happiness and that your back heals better then new.

  3. 3 Trina Williams January 3, 2008 at 1:28 am

    One of my favorites, too! I first heard it on the way over to Kauai this past September and bought the CD when I got home. I also like Jake S., the ukulele artist. When I asked my son, who plays guitar and uke, if he knew Jakes work he said’ “He makes my fingers hurt!.”
    Love your suggestions. They dovetail with what Libby had up today.

  4. 4 lindly January 5, 2008 at 5:44 pm

    I didn’t realize that there were so many Hawaiian music fans in the polymer community. We, in the Washington DC area, are quite lucky in the Wolftrap usually has several slack key events each year…and my collection of CD’s continues to grow = right now I have over fifty albums by some of my favorite muscians, which undoubtably includes IZ.

  5. 5 Kim Cavender January 7, 2008 at 1:24 pm

    Excellent post, Lindly! I just adore reading your blog. Another wonderful rendition of “Over the Rainbow” is the one by Eva Cassidy. Her voice is just incredible and she does amazing things with this beautiful song.


  1. 1 MaggieMaggio.com » White Trackback on January 3, 2008 at 10:18 am

Leave a Reply

Welcome

Thanks for visiting my blog where you'll find my latest news, class details, and new tips and tricks. You'll find more information about my work at my website. Come back often.

Calendar

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

