Colorful Eyeware…

colored glassesWe have all heard the expression that someone “sees the world through rose colored glasses” and know that wearing sunglasses can be important to our eye health. I personally find it very dis-orienting to wear dark glasses, as the colors of everything seems so “off” that I find the experience unnerving. Yellow snow, fried pine branches and olive green oceans?  How much of our perceptions are colored by our expectations?

In the course of doing some on-line research into color healing this afternoon, I was reminded of one of the wackiest/unusual purchases that I have made in my life = a set of color therapy glasses. For  several years I did take the set to my color workshops, and most of my students found the color changes to their color charts   to be unsettling as their perception of what they were looking at was so radically altered by the colored lenses.

Having recently switched on a rose colored and a blue-violet lamp, I am reminded just how powerful the color of the light that we surround ourselves with can be. Life suddenly seems a little “rosier” and  blued down calm. I would urge you to experiment with colored light via colored lenses, bulbs or gel filters.  Check out some of your favorite polymer clay color combinations…do they look better or worse towards blue, red or yellow?

3 Responses to “Colorful Eyeware…”


  1. 1 polkadotcreations January 12, 2008 at 12:12 am

    Back in the early 90’s, I went through a “colored sunglasses” phase. I had them in every hue imaginable. It was very odd to see the world that way, but I found it interesting to see how my surroundings were transformed. One thing I learned, though, was not to wear the red pair while driving – I couldn’t distinguish the red of traffic lights!

  2. 2 dragonsglass January 12, 2008 at 12:52 am

    I am a firm believer of color healing along with energy healing. Thats a great site you linked to. I wish I didn’t have to wear sunglasses but it is so bright here and my eyes are so sensitive to bright.

  3. 3 Lindly January 12, 2008 at 1:04 am

    I agree times two = energy healing (including color and light) and Please do NOT drive with the red glasses on! Have a colorful weekend.


Leave a Reply

Welcome

Thanks for visiting my blog where you'll find my latest news, class details, and new tips and tricks. You'll find more information about my work at my website. Come back often.

Calendar

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

