The Color of Music…

keysJust as we as an artistic community have Polymer Clay Daily, psychologists have Cognitive Daily a site  I found via ResearchBlogging.org . Perhaps there is a site = readingtoomanyblogsdaily.org?

Do music and color go together? How different or similar are color associations with certain genres of music? There is a “color” quiz  posted there where you are asked to listen to eight short audio clips and then say what color you associate with each piece of music. This is your chance to participate in colorful research, the results will be posted on Friday February 8th on their site.

3 Responses to “The Color of Music…”


  1. 1 Dave Munger February 4, 2008 at 9:42 pm

    I think I’m just as surprised to find out there’s a polymer clay daily as you were to find Cognitive Daily! Having had a look at the preliminary data, I think we might have a really interesting result to share on Friday.

  2. 2 lindly February 5, 2008 at 4:35 am

    Perfect! I am looking forward to seeing the results. Also, I wonder about culturally driven associations VS experential memories VS. synesthiacal (sp) in regards to the color corelations with the musical clips.

    Several times during week long color workshops I have used pieces of music as inspirational taking off points for the participants to respond to by creating color collages.

  3. 3 Kim Cavender February 12, 2008 at 6:49 pm

    Lindly, I’m a big believer in the relationship between color and music and this idea has quite a long history. There’s a project in my book that I named “the color of music” because it was inspired by Wassily Kandinsky, who felt that music and color were almost one and the same. His views on this are fascinating. One of my favorite quotes from him: “Color is the keyboard, the eyes are the harmonies, the soul is the piano with many strings. The artist is the hand that plays, touching one key or another, to cause vibrations in the soul.” I’m really enjoying your blog.


Leave a Reply

Welcome

Thanks for visiting my blog where you'll find my latest news, class details, and new tips and tricks. You'll find more information about my work at my website. Come back often.

Calendar

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

