Does it Come in Yellow?…

yellowjpg.jpgKim Cavender’s comment on my daffodil post got me to thinking (I know dangerous), but I don’t think I’ve ever made a piece of yellow jewelry, unless the 18carat gold pendant I made in Art school counts. I did an image search on yellow polymer clay jewelry and didn’t find much…

So, do you own a piece of yellow jewelry? Have you ever made a piece of yellow polymer clay jewelry? or a sculpture, doll or wall piece that is predominately yellow? Would you even consider wearing a yellow piece of jewelry? I won’t even ask about purple which seems to be the top favorite in many of the classes I teach.

..

9 Responses to “Does it Come in Yellow?…”


  1. 1 Georgia Morgan March 4, 2008 at 4:30 pm

    Interesting. When I first started making jewelry, before I discovered polymer clay, one of my first wholesale customers asked for five necklaces and 15 pairs of earrings, “but never anything yellow or orange”. So I’ve been cautious about making yellow jewelry, although I’ve had no trouble selling citrine jewelry (pale, transparent yellow quartz) at shows. When my daughter said she wanted a big egg-yolk yellow necklace to wear with a black dress, I told her “Good luck with that–do you want me to make you one?” I haven’t finished it yet, because I am waiting to hear from her about the exact length, but you can see the work in progress here: http://www.georgiamorgan.net/html/temp.htm

    Georgia

  2. 2 Kim Cavender March 5, 2008 at 3:52 pm

    Hi Georgia, What a beautiful necklace!

    I’ve sold what I would consider to be more of an amber piece and I own some amber beads made by Jeanette Kandray but nothing like the color of daffodils. I’ve also done a lot of pieces which are yellow leaning towards green like this one:

    A Pigment of Your Imagination

    Justin may have brought sexy back but, as far as jewelry goes, Jeffrey may be bringing yellow back!

  3. 3 polkadotcreations March 6, 2008 at 4:16 am

    Come to think of it, I can’t recall any predominantly yellow pieces, except one heart pendant that I immediately rejected hen I realized no amount of elegant finishing would make up for its inherent ugliness 😉

    I have used yellow as an accent color in a few places, though.

  4. 4 Malodora March 7, 2008 at 2:52 pm

    Georgia, the necklace is stunning. For those of you who don’t know, Georgia is making this necklace for her daughter to wear to her son’s wedding—-at her request! Now that’s a woman who appreciates her Mom. Georgia’s work is wonderful and always thoughtful.

  5. 5 Jenny Patterson March 8, 2008 at 12:43 am

    I just finished up a new quilt cane that has a LOT of yellow in it. Although it’s hard to tell if it is a main color or just an accent. It can be viewed here:
    http://polymerramble.blogspot.com/

    Jenny P

  6. 6 Georgia Morgan March 8, 2008 at 11:26 pm

    THat quilt cane is wonderful! Is it as full of translucent as it appears? It looks like stained glass!

  7. 7 Jenny Patterson March 9, 2008 at 6:35 pm

    Thank you Georgia, to answer your question, there is actually no translucent in the cane at all. What you see are opaque colors and the way I use them.

  8. 8 Georgia Morgan March 18, 2008 at 3:46 pm

    Thanks for your kind words, everyone. I’m very happy with how the necklace came out:

    More important, my daughter was pleased. It might not look great with every skin tone, but it’s long enough (24″) that you could wear it over the fabric of a dress or turtleneck, and I think it would look stunning against a lot of dark colors.

  9. 9 Pat L April 22, 2008 at 1:25 am

    I made a yellow necklace and earring set that I loved the look of but would never wear myself. To me it looks like sunshine. You can see it here: http://www.etsy.com/view_listing.php?listing_id=9933057


Leave a Reply

Welcome

Thanks for visiting my blog where you'll find my latest news, class details, and new tips and tricks. You'll find more information about my work at my website. Come back often.

Calendar

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

