Color of Sushi…

Lindly Haunani Sushi Platter 1992Way back when…actually 1991 I made my first sushi platter using polymer clay. The sizing was a little exaggerated= 125% of what would be the usual size of each of the elements. My father actually took it with him to his favorite sushi restaurant to the amazement of the sushi chef. Each color was carefully replicated, it took a few trys to get the wasabi right and I finally settled on a mokume gane blend from magenta to golden yellow to capture the glistening magic of the shrimp. Looking back, what amazes me,still, is that each and every piece of rice was hand rolled using translucent clay.

One of my favorite color blogs is COLOURlovers a color + design community that enjoys over 600,00 visits a month. Recently cococello posted after compiling 130 color palettes inspired by sushi. Inspiring to say the least…. perhaps you would enjoy a sushi inspired polymer clay clock ny Noriko Kuwabara  or a a sushi platter pendant by Tatsuko ? There is an abundance of sushi inspired polymer clay, after all the basics of cane construction are very similar to the construction of a sushi roll. And, besides, the colors are luscious, vibrant and inspirational.

sushiclock.jpg Sushi clock

sushi3.jpg Sushi platter pendant
.

6 Responses to “Color of Sushi…”


  1. 1 Debbie Tlach March 10, 2008 at 11:13 pm

    I’m hungry, your ‘sushi’ is amazing Lindly!

  2. 2 Debbie Tlach March 11, 2008 at 12:09 am

    Hi Lindly,
    I just tagged you through my blog. I just wanted to to have a link to your fantastic blog.
    Debbie a.k.a. Artistgirl

    http://artistgirlsmuse.blogspot.

  3. 3 Gloria March 11, 2008 at 12:36 am

    Your sushi looks deliciously like the examples outside the restaurants in Japan. Fab, of course.

    Yellow is my favorite color – think I will make something yellow.

  4. 4 lindly March 11, 2008 at 3:50 am

    …Yes! Thanks for the reminder, your fabulous work does include a lot of yellow- make more and we will look forward to seeing it-

  5. 5 Cindy Lietz, The Polymer Clay Girl March 12, 2008 at 12:34 am

    Oh the patience you have to hand roll all those tiny grains of rice! Fantastic work, so realistic! You would have to be careful if you left a plate of your sushi around my place… my husband and daughter would scarf it down before they realized it was polymer clay!

    Cindy Lietz
    “I learned by making mistakes… Now you don`t have to.”

  6. 6 sisters oregon October 5, 2009 at 7:08 pm

    Starting to want some good unagi now.


Leave a Reply

Welcome

Thanks for visiting my blog where you'll find my latest news, class details, and new tips and tricks. You'll find more information about my work at my website. Come back often.

Calendar

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

