Perfect Polymer Clay Color Mixing…

chart3.jpgIf you are a regular reader of my blog, you may have figured out by now that I adore interactive color sites.

Today a new fantastic polymer clay web site is being launched. Perfect Polymer Clay Mixing. First you scan in your picture, fabric sample or paint chips and then indicate if you plan to build a millefiore cane, use the color as a sculptural element or use the color as a surface treatment. In the next step you choose which brand of clay you would like to use and whether you would like your calculations done in metric or ounces.

 The project calculator separates each individual color in the project out, provides an exact mixing recipe(which compensates for darkening in baking) , including amounts and printable swatches.

While this is the Beta version and there still may be some kinks- this site will help take the guesswork out of your color mixing!

.

16 Responses to “Perfect Polymer Clay Color Mixing…”


  1. 1 libzoid April 1, 2008 at 10:51 am

    Truly amazing what technology can do today, isn’t it?

    Thanks for the laugh!

  2. 2 Judy Dunn April 1, 2008 at 11:24 am

    How cool is that? Thank you for such a wonderful tool!

  3. 3 Kim Cavender April 1, 2008 at 12:11 pm

    I LOVE it, Lindly! Any idea when the site that actually builds the cane for you will be up and running?

  4. 4 Kim Calhoun April 1, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    GREAT SITE! I love your blog Lindy!

  5. 5 Barbara Forbes-Lyons April 1, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    Wow – has Maggie seen this? 😉

  6. 6 Jenn April 1, 2008 at 8:04 pm

    Nice! You’ve been hiding some serious techie knowledge there, m’dear. =)

  7. 7 ambercat2 April 1, 2008 at 8:24 pm

    By the time that I reached the part asking about the intended use for the colour,my antennae perked up….good giggle,I hope that your injury is healing well….your blog gives much inspiration…thank you,Lindly

  8. 8 debbie carlton April 2, 2008 at 7:44 am

    tres drole… i was so there.

    Did you hear about BMW who have apparently developed special hub caps which give off a small electric charge when an unsuspecting pet cocks a leg? imagine the outrage in the UK about that one! ( Times Newspaper 1st April)

  9. 9 Melanie West April 2, 2008 at 1:04 pm

    ROTFLMAO! Terrific tip, Lindly!

    Thanks for the good laugh! It was sorely needed.

    Peace be with you.

  10. 10 Cami Frager April 2, 2008 at 1:48 pm

    Thanks Lindley for the info, If anyone can make this come true I’m sure it would be you who would figure it out. When you do, keep us posted.

  11. 11 lindly April 3, 2008 at 3:50 am

    Thank you all for your words of encouragment, votes of confidence and allowing me to have a bit of April Fool’s Day fun! Mxing your own colors takes time (exactly the same amount of time it takes to condition the clay), the willingness to experiment and make mistakes…but can make all the difference in your own work.

    So the next time you do find a color combination that you like- I would like to encourage you to try being YOUR very own Perfect Polymer Clay Mixer (substiture your web site URL here as the hyperlink!)

  12. 12 Mags B April 4, 2008 at 2:32 am

    Well since I was looking at this today – 4/3 – you actually had me. I was so psyched!!! Just what I needed!!!! If life could only be so good.
    Hope you are feeling good.

  13. 13 Cindy Lietz April 7, 2008 at 1:39 am

    OK you got me! Not being the 1st when I came across this I was totally off guard. Thought damn… someone figured this out before I did! Then I saw the comments, then I checked the sight, then I felt like a fool. Happy belated April Fools… I won’t be so easy to fool next year!

  14. 14 Sherry Bailey April 9, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    Yep. Got me too, although *I* was thinking you were announcing YOUR new product! (It’s the 9th, so April Fool is ancient history! My only excuse!)

    It could probably actually be done with one of those scanners paint stores use to derive formulae. Kind of!

  15. 15 Enkhe April 10, 2008 at 1:17 pm

    So funny! I was there and searched the site. I hope you will build such tool soon ! 🙂

  16. 16 Martha Aleo April 14, 2008 at 3:20 pm

    This deserves an entry on Snopes!


Leave a Reply

Welcome

Thanks for visiting my blog where you'll find my latest news, class details, and new tips and tricks. You'll find more information about my work at my website. Come back often.

Calendar

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

