Colorful Thank You…

Maggie Maggio and myself had a colorful Fed-Ex day, as our final draft manuscript for Polymer Clay Color Inspirations:Techniques and Projects for Creating Successful Palettes, was successfully delivered to our editor at Random House. This exciting (and colorful) book  is a collaborative distillation of our years of experience as color workshop teachers, our personal color explorations and shared color wisdom. The scheduled publication date is Spring 2009 and we will certainly keep you posted.

 I am deeply grateful for the enthusiastic,generous  support and encouragement that we both received from the polymer clay community. Thank you!

 Noted and appreciated also, is the patience of the nearly eighty artists who submitted images for consideration for inclusion our book. As with nearly any project of this magnitude and scope there have been some delays (and glitches). The preliminary selections for the artist galleries  and spotlight sections of the book have been made. Maggie and myself will be working closely with our editor to finalize these selections- and notify all of the artists who sent images.

There are four  main reasons that images were not selected are not a direct reflection of your artistic  abilities, rather …
  • insufficient resolution = small web size images  
  • distracting backgrounds = colored, textured paper
  • insufficient or distracting lighting= glares or dark shadows
  • an abundance of similar pieces via technique, format or colorway
Have a colorful day! And thank you very much- Lindly
9 Responses to “Colorful Thank You…”


  1. 1 Ron Lehocky August 2, 2008 at 7:50 pm

    Congrats to you both…the polymer clay community will definitely benefit from your publication and you will go down in PC history,deservedly, for sharing all
    your “colorful” knowledge and sensitivity. YOU are the masters!!! I can’t wait to own it.

    Ron

  2. 2 Kim Cavender August 4, 2008 at 11:32 pm

    Congratulations, Lindly! You’re almost to the finish line! I know it’s going to be a great book . . .

  3. 3 Janet Farris August 5, 2008 at 6:30 pm

    Congratulations Lindly and Maggie. I eagerly await your book. With all your combined experience and knowledge it will be a wonderful resource.

  4. 4 Bettina Welker August 6, 2008 at 11:45 am

    I’d like to send my congratulations on the new book as well to you and Maggie. It sure will be THE future Color Bible throughout the clay community. Can’t wait to finally hold it in my hands. You both do awesome work!

    all the best from Germany
    Bettina

  5. 5 Cindy Silas August 7, 2008 at 3:21 am

    How very exciting! I’m sure it was a HUGE undertaking, mining through the wealth of color info you and Maggie know. Congratulations! I’m looking forward to buying it.

  6. 6 Maureen Thomas August 9, 2008 at 3:38 am

    I can’t wait to have a copy for my library! I was fortunate to take a workshop with Maggie in Sacramento last year. I still can’t recycle a magazine without tearing out a few pictures to make color inspiration boards and I have quite a collection. I think I have more fun making the boards than actually using them. Hmmmmm……think there’s a market for those???

    Congratulations!!!

  7. 7 lindly August 9, 2008 at 7:29 pm

    Thank you for all of your kind words…I am constantly lerning more about color from Maggie Maggio. If you ever get the chance, take her Smashing Color Workshop- it is jammed packed with information, insighta nd hands-on exercises. MaggieMaggio.com

  8. 8 Susan Rimmer August 25, 2008 at 4:45 pm

    I can’t wait. I have taken myself through Maggie’s colour tutorials abd have several jellyfishes using different baseas and I find these invaluable for choosing palettes. But I can hardly wait for your joint book next year as I find creating palettes one of the most challenging aspects of working with clay. I am looking forward to it so thank you to you both for all the hard work that I know goes in to creating a book.

  9. 9 Martha Aleo August 27, 2008 at 9:10 pm

    Lindly and Maggie,

    I am really looking forward to the book. With your expertise and all the hard work, it is going to be something special. Best of luck!


Leave a Reply

Welcome

Thanks for visiting my blog where you'll find my latest news, class details, and new tips and tricks. You'll find more information about my work at my website. Come back often.

Calendar

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

