Colorful Earth Pastels…

In the recent days Maggie Maggio and myself  have been going back and forth (colorfully) via email in an attempt to nail down the color names for an illustration (earth pastels)  in our upcoming collaborative book- Color Inspirations for Polymer Clay Artists: Techniques and Projects for Creating Successful Palettes.

 

While attempting to name just twelve colors, we created an interesting round poem of sorts- if one were to copy and compile all of our  emails- complete with color highlights, commentary on our own personal interpretations of color names and numerous revisions to the final list.

What is your favorite name for a desaturated pastel golden yellow?

Great American Art Works offers a selection of earth pastel colors  via their handmade soft pastels. Coloria  offers a grand selection of color names on their web site. Have there been times in your life that the name of a color was more seductive and attractive than the color itself- or vice versa?

8 Responses to “Colorful Earth Pastels…”


  1. 1 Kathi October 26, 2008 at 3:17 pm

    is the book done yet?? huh?? 🙂 I can’t wait for this one to live in my library aka clayroom.

    for me it is all about the color and not the name. Heck, I name colors from the image they birth in my head, so pre-named ones, heh…I go for color. as for the yellow question, my mind see’s wheat being shorn under a harvest moon. you figure out how to make that a short name *g*

  2. 2 Connie Vickery October 29, 2008 at 2:47 pm

    Lindly, I LOVE your site! Names for colors can be as fun and seductive as the colors themselves. What about “glow” for the desaturated…gold color?

    What are the Annandale afternoons? Is it an open studio or do you just teach/demo what feels right and everyone has fun learning?

    Can’t wait to have your book – is it possible to preorder on Amazon or somewhere? I look forward to taking a class in color from you. And I will hopefully see you for the NVBS classes next spring.

    Your work continues to be absolutely fun and fabulous!

    Take care,

    Connie

  3. 3 lindly October 29, 2008 at 5:51 pm

    Thank You- since the scheduled publication date for our book is Summer 2009, Color Inspirations for Polymer Clay Artists is not available for pre-order on Amazon. We will let you know when it is.

    The Artfull Afternoons in Annandale are short- three hour workshops. I bring the clay and the tools and the participants learn a new technique and leave with a completed project.These are scheduled on the third saturdays of the month and registration information is on this blog.

    The Northern Virginia Polymer Clay Guild sponsors an open clay day at the Packard Center on the second Saturday of the month- this is free, open to the public and participant share their ideas and skills.

    Hope to see you at the NVBS workshop in April! Lindly

  4. 4 Patti Underwood October 29, 2008 at 10:56 pm

    butter yellow says a pastel yellow to me so does mellow yellow. Pastels are my favorites. Can’t wait for the book!
    Patti Underwood

  5. 5 Carolyn November 15, 2008 at 2:19 am

    Put me on the list & let me know when THE BOOK will be available. I am studying color thru MM’s youtube and website. this could be so much fun & my anticipation is that color will be my inspiration for beads & not the other way around. like everyone else…can hardly wait.

    c

  6. 6 Harriet Russell November 15, 2008 at 5:32 pm

    Books are as tempting to me as colors, so a book like yours will be irresistible.

    As for the yellow, I love Kathi’s “wheat being shorn under a harvest moon”, but I hope you’ll add “(Naples Yellow)” after whatever name you choose, so we old fogies can visualize it.

    I can’t think of a traditional color name, but “puce” is definitely a nasty name for any color:”…flea (color), puce, from Old French…” Though it’s actually more the color of moistened flea feces. Cat or dog owners know exactly the color!
    (Definition of “Puce” from the Free Online Dictionary.)

  7. 7 Pam April 18, 2009 at 11:14 pm

    I stumbled in to see what was up on your new book and found that you were searching for a name for a desaturated pastel golden yellow, (back in October 2008) the first thing that came to my mind was “Whipped Honey Butter”. I looked down the list only to find that Pattie Underwood had something very similar in mind.

    I love color, and I think the name can, in some cases create a feeling just as much as the color on it’s own. Companies spend millions of dollars on marketing research and brainstorming to pick the “right names” for lip, eye, nail and paint colors. O.P.I. and Urban Decay, being leaders in the cosmetic arena for the most creative of the bunch in my opinion. When I create the color, I love to name it. I will use the name of the color when describing a piece, i.e. “Juicy Pink-Tangerine” a slightly transparent pinkish orangey tangerine color. It’s something you can almost smell and taste. It’s very visceral.

    No matter what you name your desaturated pastel golden yellow, I look forward to the publication of your book.

    Sincerely,

    Pam


  1. 1 More Simmons’ canes at Polymer Clay Daily Trackback on November 14, 2008 at 10:31 am

Leave a Reply

Welcome

Thanks for visiting my blog where you'll find my latest news, class details, and new tips and tricks. You'll find more information about my work at my website. Come back often.

Calendar

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

