Colorful Big Box…

boxWay before there were “big box” stores- there was the initial BIG BOX…I remember the very first time I received the gift of a big box of 120 crayons. I spent about an hour re-sorting the colors and was dismayed when my sister wanted to borrow one of the crayons (thus making them  out of order).

There is an interesting post about crayons and their colors at Colour Lovers. You can find more about the history of crayons here.

“Crayola crayon colour names rarely change. However, there are exceptions. In 1958, Prussian blue was changed to midnight blue in response to teacher recommendations that children could no longer relate to Prussian history.”

The official crayon site is here.  What is YOUR favorite crayon color or story?

2 Responses to “Colorful Big Box…”


  1. 1 Diana December 17, 2008 at 10:42 am

    My favorite color story is the poem by Shane DeRolf (http://dylinn.com/OtherStuff/colors.htm).

  2. 2 Sherry Bailey January 6, 2009 at 12:09 am

    My favorite crayon was always blue-green. And although I love all colors in various contexts, if pressured I guess I’d still pick teal as my “favorite” color.


Leave a Reply

Welcome

Thanks for visiting my blog where you'll find my latest news, class details, and new tips and tricks. You'll find more information about my work at my website. Come back often.

Calendar

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

