Colorful Question…?

motorToday while making arrangements for an upcoming workshop, the following question was raised…”Do you allow pasta machine motors in your workshops?  My response to this is NO – only in adjacent room.

While I have had some positive experiences with allowing motors in my classroom… = one handed student who would have struggled needlessly trying to sheet clay through pasta machine without a motor, most often I have found the use of these motors to detract from the  overall workshop experience…as for every student that experienced a mobility challenge there is usually someone else in the room that experiences a hearing challenge…

What do you think? As a student would you prefer to use your motor in class? OR as a teacher do you allow students to use their motors in class?

3 Responses to “Colorful Question…?”


  1. 1 Kathi January 5, 2009 at 1:59 am

    as someone who has been a one armed clayer 4 times now (it sucks!) I always appreciated the instructor who understood the frustrations, however I always offered to step outside of the room if I needed to use the motor. I think if there was another room where folks could go and use the motor if needed, AND if it didn’t disrupt the class to do so, that is the best way. I also can’t hear well if there is a lot of background noise (too many years of sirens in the ambulance) so if I was in a class where the motors were allowed to be used whenever, then I would probably go a bit crazy.

    I have also been an instructor that has allowed the use of motors (usually it was my motor cause I was one armed at the moment) but then again my classes only had 4-6 folks and they had no issues with it.

    The only class I ever went to that allowed motors in the class was a Sarah Shriver kaleidoscope class…mainly because we were all using fimo classic.

    it is a fine line I think. Maybe allowing them to be used only during specific times for a specific reason. good luck!

  2. 2 Sherry Bailey January 5, 2009 at 11:49 pm

    Motors in an adjacent room is the win-win solution. (And I agree that special exceptions can be made when it is sensible.) It has the added advantage that those of us who don’t travel with motors due to their weight won’t be as jealous of those who do! ;^)

  3. 3 Lenora Kandiner January 8, 2009 at 1:23 pm

    I have been a one-handed clayer on a few occasions and have resorted to a motor at those times. I was able to fix the “permanent” injury to my elbow with physical therapy and exercise.

    I have a great deal of difficulty being in a room where motors are allowed. If motors are allowed, there generally are more than one, and the noise of two of them sounds like sirens going off constantly.

    Motors in an adjacent room would allow people who had a need for motors to be able to work but not disrupt the class or other students.


Leave a Reply

Welcome

Thanks for visiting my blog where you'll find my latest news, class details, and new tips and tricks. You'll find more information about my work at my website. Come back often.

Calendar

January 2009
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

