Colorful Company…

brightpetaleiIn 1994 I taught a polymer clay workshop at The Florida Craftsmen’s Guild’s annual conference  in Jacksonville, Florida  and I have fond memories (and several somewhat outrageous stories)  of several aspects of that weekend conference (perhaps more later?)… one thing that really stands out in my mind is that the opening ceremonies were held in the Jacksonvile Museum of Art.  In addition to the Guild’s annual juried show being on display, there were plexiglass pedestals of the instructor’s work on display throughout the museum- and as I chatted with Paul Soldner-  I couldn’t help but notice that my pieces were on display in front of a Rauschenberg painting! I remember pinching myself and thinking  “Pay attention, this may the closest you will  ever get to being in a museum collection as a living artist.”    

Fortunately history (and Elise Winters Polymer Collection Project) has proven me wrong. Today I am delighted/thrilled/honored to say that I am one of ten artists/eleven pieces (Bright Petal Lei)  that have been added to The Museum of Fine Arts Boston’s  permanent collection.  Congratulations are in order to Rachel Carren, Jeffrey Lloyd Dever, Kathleen DustinVictoria Hughes, Nan Roche, Sarah Shriver, Cynthia Toops, Pier Voulkos, Elise Winters (and myself). 

To find out more about how YOU can support the Polymer Collection Project please visit Polymer Art Archive.

0 Responses to “Colorful Company…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Welcome

Thanks for visiting my blog where you'll find my latest news, class details, and new tips and tricks. You'll find more information about my work at my website. Come back often.

Calendar

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

