Know When to Hold ’em…

Do you begin preheating your oven before you even finished your polymer clay sculpture,  set of beads or series of brooches? Granted sometimes you need a piece “yesterday’. But, if you have the time, don’t rush to bake your creations.eject-key.jpg

One of the most useful pieces of advice that I gleaned from “Using Fimo”  (David Edwards -self published 1988) is to wait before baking. Set your pieces aside, wait a couple of hours or overnight and then examine the pieces with fresh eyes.

  • Are there any glaring fingerprints , air bubbles, nicks or dings in your piece?
  • Is there anything you could add or delete that would make you piece more interesting?
  • Carefully examine any bead holes, pin back attachments and all sides of your piece-do you need to make repairs?

2 Responses to “Know When to Hold ’em…”


  1. 1 Christy October 29, 2007 at 1:48 pm

    Guilty! And I agree. I let a sculpture I was working on sit overnight which is unusual for me.. When I looked at it again, I decided to remove the yellow section that was distracting from the overall focus of the piece. It looked so much better.

  2. 2 Kim Cavender November 1, 2007 at 12:41 pm

    Lindly, You have such an eloquent way of stating the obvious. Thanks for sharing your wisdom!


Leave a comment




Welcome

Thanks for visiting my blog where you'll find my latest news, class details, and new tips and tricks. You'll find more information about my work at my website. Come back often.

Calendar

October 2007
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031