New Clay Colors…

Studio by SculpeyTo be more accurate, Polyform products has launched their new polymer clay = Studio by Sculpey. This clay comes in thirty four co-ordinated colors with yummy names= Cappuccino, Clover, Denim and Butterscotch to name a few. The surface finish is described as being “soft and suede-like” Since I haven’t touched clay (since my accident) I have been unable to experiment with the samples I received this fall. My first impressions are:

  • The colors are lovely = softened (desaturated and/or tinted versions) of a palette designed to work together cohesively
  • There weren’t very many deep, rich darks in the line
  • The clay smells different from any of the other clays on the market

It will be interesting to see the work that evolves using this new clay; both from the technical perspective (does it cane well? how theromsenstive is it? ) and the perspective of the opportunity of having a predetermined palette to work from (instead of customizing ones own palette from the pigment primaries available) for the color mixing timid…any bets when the first conversion chart appears on the Internet? = how to mix the Studio line colors using FIMO soft?  

If you have had time to experiment with this new clay, I would be very interested in hearing your comments and observations.

9 Responses to “New Clay Colors…”


  1. 1 Trina Williams January 11, 2008 at 1:20 am

    I have to make a class sample and will get back to you. I like the colors but the classes are pretty pricey.

  2. 2 Susan Turney January 12, 2008 at 2:39 pm

    I just bought some the other day and made a cane. I love the powdery feel of it when it first comes out of the package but by the time the cane was finished it was a bit stickier. It’s much softer than Kato but once you adjust your thinking to that it seems okay. I have a piece in the oven right now. I’ll be posting it on http://www.flickr.com/photos/pcbysusan
    when it’s out. I’m anxious to see how it bakes and sands and and polishes. I’m not used to working with such “soft” colors…I think they’re pretty but they seem a little too “feminine” or something…not what I would normally choose to work with. Fun to experiment with something new, though!

  3. 3 Severine January 13, 2008 at 10:08 am

    Hello,
    I live in france and i’ve heard about the new clay called “studio by sculpey”. Can anyone tell me where i can purshace this clay on the net, since in France i can’t find it.
    Best regards, Severine

  4. 4 Jeanne Dumond January 13, 2008 at 5:25 pm

    I bought the new clay and worked with it a bit. I have warm hands and it gets awfully sticky for me very quickly. Also when you roll through the pasta machine to do a skinner blend it gets sticky. The jelly roll cane I made sliced fine after I let it sit for two days. In order to make a leaf cane I would have to make the skinner cane, let it cool add the vein colors, let it cool wrap it, let it cool, then reduce it, you get the picture.

    When you just take it out of the package and roll it into a sheet, press a texture plate into it and cut it out with their cookie cutters, it works pretty good and you can put it into a curled position and put it in the oven and it bakes exactly the way you put it in without being propped up. The buttercream singed a little when I baked it.

    Not sure how it will cover tins etc. One of our guild members says it goes through the pasta machine at the thinnest setting wonderfully. We’ll all be experimenting more I am sure. Not sure I like the blade handles on the plain straight blades but one of our guild makes said it makes cutting through canes with the wavy blades really easy. Loved the tools with the balls on one end.

  5. 5 daydreamerhlr January 22, 2008 at 6:43 pm

    Severine,

    You can purchase it from http://www.munrocrafts.com/

    Good luck,
    Heather 🙂

  6. 6 Severine January 23, 2008 at 5:50 pm

    Thank you very much Heather for the information.
    Merci, Severine

  7. 7 lindly January 28, 2008 at 8:24 pm

    There is a very nice update on the Studio clay on Ileen Goldman’s blog = http://www.polymerclayzen.blogspot.com

    She did some serious color mixing, and has posted pictures of her results using Maggie Maggio’s color scales.

  8. 8 Jenny February 16, 2008 at 8:56 pm

    I’ve played with this clay and left a couple of reviews on my blog, http://www.crafttestdummies.com. I found that it caned OK, did great with texture, and it stayed stiff enough to cover picture frames, tins, switchplates just fine. I noticed the distinctive smell, too! Glad it’s not just me! ;). However I’m not fond of the tools I’ve used in the SBS line so far. Last thing: this line was designed for home decor use (hence the Donna Dewberry tie-in) and that’s why the color palette is so muted- they are meant to match your wall color! Cheers, Jenny


  1. 1 Polymer Clay Notes » the newest clay: studio by sculpey Trackback on January 10, 2008 at 4:58 pm

Leave a comment




Welcome

Thanks for visiting my blog where you'll find my latest news, class details, and new tips and tricks. You'll find more information about my work at my website. Come back often.

Calendar

January 2008
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031